Skip to main content
Live Webcast Replay

Planning in an Uncertain World


Total Credits: 2 including 2 Accounting - Technical

Average Rating:
   38
Categories:
ACPEN Industry Institute |  Industry |  Accounting and Auditing
Faculty:
John Levy, MBA, CPA
Course Levels:
Intermediate
Duration:
2 Hours
License:
Product Setting: Expires 30 day(s) after program date.

Dates
Please Note: Programs with a ☾ insignia begin after 5pm or air on the weekend.


Description

We all make predictions in our personal and professional lives.  We base our decisions to marry, buy a house, launch a new product or hire staff on expectations about the future.  In the past few years, research into improving predictions has advanced. We will look at this research and current best practices in forecasting to help us prepare better budgets and projections. 

Basic Course Information

Learning Objectives
  • Better understand factors which can cause predictions to be wrong

 


Major Subjects
  • Why great predictions are not intuitive but the result of critical thinking, gathering information and updating predictions when needed
  • How to separate correlation from causation
  • How to recognize and overcome bias
  • Who is Thomas Bayes and why he matters

Course Materials

Faculty

John Levy, MBA, CPA's Profile

John Levy, MBA, CPA Related Seminars and Products


John F. Levy, MBA, CPA, is the CEO of Board Advisory Services, a consulting firm that assists public companies, or companies aspiring to be public, with corporate governance, compliance, financial reporting and financial strategies. He has nine years of experience with three large, national accounting firms and has served  as CFO of both public and private companies. John currently serves on the Board of Directors of three public companies, including as vice-chairman of one company and audit committee chair of another. He graduated from the University of Pennsylvania's Wharton School of Business.


Dates

Thu, Mar 14, 2024 - 05:00pm to 06:50pm MDT
Tue, Mar 26, 2024 - 02:00pm to 03:50pm MDT
Mon, Apr 01, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:50am MDT
Mon, Apr 15, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:50am MDT
Thu, May 09, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:50pm MDT
Tue, May 21, 2024 - 02:00pm to 03:50pm MDT
Mon, Jun 10, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:50am MDT
Thu, Jun 20, 2024 - 05:00pm to 06:50pm MDT
Fri, Jun 28, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:50pm MDT
Thu, Jul 11, 2024 - 02:00pm to 03:50pm MDT
Fri, Jul 26, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:50am MDT
Wed, Aug 07, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:50am MDT
Thu, Aug 15, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:50pm MDT
Mon, Sep 09, 2024 - 02:00pm to 03:50pm MDT
Thu, Sep 19, 2024 - 05:00pm to 06:50pm MDT
Mon, Oct 07, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:50am MDT
Fri, Oct 25, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:50pm MDT
Tue, Nov 12, 2024 - 05:00pm to 06:50pm MST
Mon, Nov 25, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:50am MST
Mon, Dec 02, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:50am MST
Wed, Dec 11, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:50pm MST
Wed, Dec 18, 2024 - 02:00pm to 03:50pm MST
Wed, Jan 15, 2025 - 09:00am to 10:50am MST
Fri, Jan 31, 2025 - 11:00am to 12:50pm MST
Fri, Feb 07, 2025 - 01:00pm to 02:50pm MST
Wed, Feb 19, 2025 - 07:00am to 08:50am MST
Wed, Mar 12, 2025 - 09:00am to 10:50am MDT
Sat, Mar 22, 2025 - 09:00am to 10:50am MDT
Tue, Mar 25, 2025 - 05:00pm to 06:50pm MDT
Fri, Apr 04, 2025 - 01:00pm to 02:50pm MDT
Thu, Apr 17, 2025 - 07:00am to 08:50am MDT
Tue, May 13, 2025 - 09:00am to 10:50am MDT
Wed, May 28, 2025 - 11:00am to 12:50pm MDT
Mon, Jun 09, 2025 - 01:00pm to 02:50pm MDT
Tue, Jun 17, 2025 - 04:00pm to 05:50pm MDT
Sat, Jun 21, 2025 - 09:00am to 10:50am MDT
Fri, Jun 27, 2025 - 09:00am to 10:50am MDT

Additional Info

Basic Course Information

Prerequisites

Some budgeting and forecasting experience


Advanced Preparation None
Designed For

CFOs, Controllers, Budget Managers and other professionals who work on budgets and forecasts


Original Recording Date 04/07/2022
Course Developer

The Knowledge Institute


Date Added to Catalog 03/24/2022
Yellow Book No

Additional Information

Complaint Resolution Policy

Please contact Anne Taylor for any complaints. anne.taylor@acpen.com, (972-377-8199). 


Official Registry Statement

Business Professionals' Network, Inc. is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors through its website: www.nasbaregistry.org


Instructional Delivery Method

Group Internet Based


Course Registration Requirements

Online Registration


Refund/Cancellation Policy

Please contact the ACPEN help desk 1-877-602-9877 or help@acpen.com if you wish to cancel your attendance for a previously purchased webcast and are requesting a refund or transfer. 


Promo Video

Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:      4.6

Total Reviews: 38

Comments

Patrick P

"Thought provoking and inspirational"

Emma-Lee C

"The key takeaways were excellent."

Janelle T

"Great content!"