Skip to main content
Live Webcast Replay

It Is Legal, But Is It Really Ethical?, featuring Rob Berry and Bob Mims


Total Credits: 1 including 1 Behavioral Ethics - Non-technical

Average Rating:
   14
Categories:
Ethics |  ACPEN Industry Institute
Faculty:
Rob Berry, CPA |  Bob Mims, CPA
Course Levels:
Intermediate
Duration:
1 Hour
License:
Product Setting: Expires 30 day(s) after program date.

Dates
Please Note: Programs with a ☾ insignia begin after 5pm or air on the weekend.


Tags: Ethics Hour


Description

This discussion outlines situations where ‘legal’ and ‘ethical’ are not necessarily in alignment.  How should you handle these issues?  We will detail a better thought process to help you avoid ‘crossing the line.’ 

 

Basic Course Information

Learning Objectives
  • To realize that ethics is not merely following the law. Compliance is not necessarily the same as being ethical in practice

Major Subjects
  • Is ‘legal’ the same as ‘ethical’?
    • Why or why not?
  • The value of using the Code of Professional Conduct properly.
  • Resolving situations where the two are divergent.

Course Materials

Faculty

Rob Berry, CPA's Profile

Rob Berry, CPA Related Seminars and Products


Robert Berry, CPA, is a Certified Public Accountant who actually likes people more than he does numbers. With more than 20 years in the risk, audit, and compliance sector, he is an internationally recognized speaker, trainer, author and podcast host. His most recent book, Ask, Get, Perform: The Auditors’ Essential Guide to Asking Better Questions, Getting Better Answers, and Performing Better Audits, is changing the way auditors build relationships with clients.


Bob Mims, CPA's Profile

Bob Mims, CPA Related Seminars and Products


Bob Mims, CPA, is an entrepreneur and accounting/management executive based in Memphis, TN. He has served as a financial consultant across various industries in the role of planning, modeling and CFO capacities.  Bob has had the privilege of serving as chair on an AICPA committee and on two FASB advisory committees.  During his ten years with the accounting firm KPMG, he was selected national instructor of the year on three occasions. 
Bob graduated from the University of Mississippi, and enjoys outdoor sports with his wife, 5 children, 2 service dogs, and a 20-pound cat named ‘Squirt’.
 


Dates

Tue, Mar 12, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:02am MDT
Mon, Mar 25, 2024 - 09:00am to 10:02am MDT
Tue, Apr 09, 2024 - 05:00pm to 06:02pm MDT
Sat, Apr 13, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:02am MDT
Fri, Apr 26, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:02pm MDT
Tue, May 14, 2024 - 01:00pm to 02:02pm MDT
Fri, May 24, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:02am MDT
Tue, Jun 04, 2024 - 09:00am to 10:02am MDT
Sat, Jun 08, 2024 - 09:00am to 10:02am MDT
Wed, Jun 12, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:02am MDT
Tue, Jun 25, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:02pm MDT
Wed, Jul 10, 2024 - 01:00pm to 02:02pm MDT
Thu, Jul 25, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:02am MDT
Tue, Aug 06, 2024 - 05:00pm to 06:02pm MDT
Wed, Aug 28, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:02am MDT
Wed, Sep 04, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:02pm MDT
Sat, Sep 14, 2024 - 09:00am to 10:02am MDT
Tue, Sep 24, 2024 - 01:00pm to 02:02pm MDT
Mon, Oct 07, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:02am MDT
Fri, Oct 25, 2024 - 09:00am to 10:02am MDT
Fri, Nov 08, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:02am MST
Tue, Nov 19, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:02pm MST
Wed, Dec 04, 2024 - 01:00pm to 02:02pm MST
Sat, Dec 07, 2024 - 09:00am to 10:02am MST
Fri, Dec 13, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:02am MST
Thu, Dec 26, 2024 - 05:00pm to 06:02pm MST
Tue, Jan 14, 2025 - 10:00am to 11:02am MST
Thu, Jan 30, 2025 - 12:00pm to 01:02pm MST
Mon, Feb 03, 2025 - 01:00pm to 02:02pm MST
Sat, Feb 15, 2025 - 09:00am to 10:02am MST
Thu, Feb 20, 2025 - 08:00am to 09:02am MST
Wed, Mar 05, 2025 - 09:00am to 10:02am MST
Fri, Mar 28, 2025 - 10:00am to 11:02am MDT
Mon, Apr 07, 2025 - 12:00pm to 01:02pm MDT
Fri, May 02, 2025 - 08:00am to 09:02am MDT
Wed, May 21, 2025 - 09:00am to 10:02am MDT
Sat, May 24, 2025 - 01:00pm to 02:02pm MDT
Tue, Jun 10, 2025 - 10:00am to 11:02am MDT
Thu, Jun 19, 2025 - 05:00pm to 06:02pm MDT
Sat, Jun 28, 2025 - 09:00am to 10:02am MDT
Mon, Jun 30, 2025 - 01:00pm to 02:02pm MDT

Additional Info

Basic Course Information

Prerequisites None
Advanced Preparation None
Designed For Corporate Financial Managers
Original Recording Date 06/15/2023
Yellow Book No
Course Developer John L. Daly
Date Added to Catalog 02/10/2023

Additional Information

Complaint Resolution Policy

Please contact Anne Taylor for any complaints. anne.taylor@acpen.com, (972-377-8199). 


Official Registry Statement

Business Professionals' Network, Inc. is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors through its website: www.nasbaregistry.org


Instructional Delivery Method

Group Internet Based


Course Registration Requirements

Online Registration


Refund/Cancellation Policy

Please contact the ACPEN help desk 1-877-602-9877 or help@acpen.com if you wish to cancel your attendance for a previously purchased webcast and are requesting a refund or transfer. 


Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:      4.6

Total Reviews: 14

Comments

Milton W

" "

Gary N

"Well done. Interesting."