Skip to main content
Live Webcast Replay

Imagining a World Without Non-Competes


Total Credits: 1 including 1 Business Management & Organization - Non-technical

Average Rating:
   3
Categories:
ACPEN Industry Institute |  Human Resources |  Industry |  Practice Management |  Professional Development |  Technology
Faculty:
Alana Ackels
Course Levels:
Intermediate
Duration:
1 Hour
License:
Product Setting: Expires 30 day(s) after program date.

Dates
Please Note: Programs with a ☾ insignia begin after 5pm or air on the weekend.


Description

This course will review the Federal Trade Commission's proposed rule banning non-competes. It will also briefly go over the rule making process and timeline for the proposed rule to go into effect. In the second half, the presentation will review the patchwork quilt of state laws that have curtailed enforcement of non-competes, as well as best practices for businesses to consider when implementing non-competes in the workforce. 

Basic Course Information

Learning Objectives
  • Content and timing of FTC's proposed rule banning non-competes 
  • Overview of state laws curtailing enforceability of non-compete 

Major Subjects
  • Federal non-compete law
  • State non-compete law

Course Materials

Faculty

Alana Ackels's Profile

Alana Ackels Related Seminars and Products


Alana advises employers on minimizing risk, protecting their businesses, and navigating the multitude of state and federal laws governing the employer-employee relationship. She works with companies across all types of industries, including retail, hospitality and technology, and organizations that often have workforces distributed across the country. In recent years, she has developed a niche helping international businesses, with headquarters in jurisdictions as diverse as Australia and India, expand into U.S. markets.  

Whether managing regulatory compliance issues for a startup or growing business, helping an employer with a risky termination or navigating a whistleblower action, Alana adeptly balances legal exposure and business priorities across the employment law spectrum. She prepares employment, confidentiality and noncompetition agreements; employee handbooks; and other policies that reduce legal exposure. Alana uses her vast trial experience to help companies avoid mistakes that often lead to litigation. She also prepares injury benefit plans for employers who choose to opt out of workers compensation in Texas and manages the plan rollout for companies that go nonsubscriber.


Dates

Fri, Mar 08, 2024 - 09:00am to 10:05am MST
Tue, Mar 12, 2024 - 04:00pm to 05:05pm MDT
Sat, Mar 23, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:05pm MDT
Tue, Apr 02, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:05am MDT
Wed, Apr 10, 2024 - 09:00am to 10:05am MDT
Sat, Apr 27, 2024 - 11:00am to 12:05pm MDT
Tue, May 07, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:05pm MDT
Fri, May 17, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:05am MDT
Sat, May 25, 2024 - 09:00am to 10:05am MDT
Tue, Jun 04, 2024 - 04:00pm to 05:05pm MDT
Sat, Jun 08, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:05pm MDT
Fri, Jun 14, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:05am MDT
Tue, Jun 25, 2024 - 09:00am to 10:05am MDT
Thu, Jul 11, 2024 - 05:00pm to 06:05pm MDT
Mon, Jul 22, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:05am MDT
Wed, Jul 31, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:05pm MDT
Mon, Aug 05, 2024 - 02:00pm to 03:05pm MDT
Thu, Aug 15, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:05am MDT
Thu, Aug 29, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:05am MDT
Thu, Sep 12, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:05pm MDT
Fri, Sep 20, 2024 - 02:00pm to 03:05pm MDT
Sat, Sep 21, 2024 - 09:00am to 10:05am MDT
Mon, Sep 30, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:05am MDT
Tue, Oct 08, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:05am MDT
Thu, Oct 17, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:05pm MDT
Mon, Oct 28, 2024 - 02:00pm to 03:05pm MDT
Tue, Nov 05, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:05am MST
Fri, Nov 15, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:05am MST
Tue, Nov 26, 2024 - 12:00pm to 01:05pm MST
Fri, Dec 06, 2024 - 02:00pm to 03:05pm MST
Mon, Dec 09, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:05am MST
Thu, Dec 19, 2024 - 05:00pm to 06:05pm MST
Sat, Dec 21, 2024 - 09:00am to 10:05am MST
Thu, Jan 16, 2025 - 11:00am to 12:05pm MST
Thu, Jan 30, 2025 - 05:00pm to 06:05pm MST
Sat, Feb 01, 2025 - 07:00am to 08:05am MST
Fri, Feb 14, 2025 - 09:00am to 10:05am MST
Wed, Mar 12, 2025 - 11:00am to 12:05pm MDT
Thu, Mar 27, 2025 - 05:00pm to 06:05pm MDT
Mon, Apr 07, 2025 - 07:00am to 08:05am MDT
Thu, Apr 24, 2025 - 09:00am to 10:05am MDT
Thu, May 08, 2025 - 11:00am to 12:05pm MDT
Thu, May 08, 2025 - 05:00pm to 06:05pm MDT
Tue, May 20, 2025 - 01:00pm to 02:05pm MDT
Tue, Jun 10, 2025 - 07:00am to 08:05am MDT
Sat, Jun 14, 2025 - 08:00am to 09:05am MDT
Tue, Jun 17, 2025 - 09:00am to 10:05am MDT
Fri, Jun 27, 2025 - 11:00am to 12:05pm MDT

Additional Info

Basic Course Information

Prerequisites None
Advanced Preparation  None
Designed For

Business owners, business advisors, HR professionals, and executives

 


Original Recording Date

5/25/23

 


Yellow Book No
Course Developer Alana Ackels
Date Added to Catalog 5/17/2023

Additional Information

Complaint Resolution Policy

Please contact Anne Taylor for any complaints. anne.taylor@acpen.com, (972-377-8199). 


Official Registry Statement

Business Professionals' Network, Inc. is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors through its website: www.nasbaregistry.org


Instructional Delivery Method

Group Internet Based


Course Registration Requirements

Online Registration


Refund/Cancellation Policy

Please contact the ACPEN help desk 1-877-602-9877 or help@acpen.com if you wish to cancel your attendance for a previously purchased webcast and are requesting a refund or transfer. 


Promo Video

Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:      4.3

Total Reviews: 3