Skip to main content
Live Webcast Replay

A Practical Guide to Trusts


Total Credits: 8 including 8 Taxes - Technical

Average Rating:
   48
Categories:
ACPEN Tax Institute |  Tax
Faculty:
Arthur Werner
Course Levels:
Basic
Duration:
8 Hours
License:
Product Setting: Expires 30 day(s) after program date.

Dates
Please Note: Programs with a ☾ insignia begin after 5pm or air on the weekend.


Description

This course provides in-depth information to enable the practitioner to make a well-informed decision as to whether a trust is the appropriate vehicle for a client’s financial, estate, and/or asset protection plan, and, if so, how the trust can best be implemented and operated. Participants will learn about the many different types of trusts that can be harnessed to save clients income, estate, generation-skipping, and other taxes, at both the federal and state level.

Basic Course Information

Learning Objectives
  • Choose a practical understanding of when and how to implement and operate a trust in a client’s financial, estate, and/or asset protection plan

Major Subjects
  • The role of the trustee and how to avoid problems
  • How to use trusts to avoid probate
  • How revocable living trusts are affected by income, gift, and estate taxes
  • Marital deductions and marital and bypass trusts
  • How an irrevocable trust can be the center of an estate plan
  • Advantages of an irrevocable life insurance trust
  • How to create a dynasty trust
  • Why a GRIT, GRAT, GRUT, or QPRT can be a good estate planning tool
  • Trust options to provide security for older clients
  • Advantages, tax consequences, and limits on charitable contributions and private foundations
  • Charitable remainder and charitable lead trust issues
  • How trusts can serve as asset protection devices Business trust issues

Course Materials

Faculty

Arthur Werner's Profile

Arthur Werner Related Seminars and Products

Werner-Rocca Seminars, Ltd.


Arthur Joseph Werner, JD, MS (Taxation), is the president and is a shareholder in the lecture firm of Werner-Rocca Seminars, Ltd. Mr. Werner’s lecture topic specialties include business, tax, financial and estate planning for high net worth individuals.  In addition, Mr. Werner is an adjunct professor of taxation in the Master of Science in Taxation program at the Philadelphia University.  Mr. Werner received his B.S. in Accounting and his M.S. in Taxation from Widener University. He holds a J.D. in Law from the Delaware Law School.


Mr. Werner lectures extensively in the areas of Estate Planning, Financial Planning, and Estate and Gift Taxation to Certified Public Accountants and Financial Planners, and has presented well in excess of 2500 eight-hour seminars over the past twenty-five years as well as numerous webinars and video presentations. Mr. Werner has been rated as having the highest speaker knowledge in his home state of Pennsylvania by the Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants, was awarded the AICPA Outstanding Discussion Leader Award in the State of Nevada, the Florida Institute of CPAs Outstanding Discussion Leader Award, and the South Carolina Association of CPAs Outstanding Discussion Leader Award.


Dates

Fri, Mar 08, 2024 - 08:00am to 03:47pm MST
Wed, Mar 20, 2024 - 08:00am to 03:47pm MDT
Tue, Apr 02, 2024 - 04:00pm to 11:47pm MDT
Thu, Apr 18, 2024 - 08:00am to 03:47pm MDT
Fri, May 10, 2024 - 08:00am to 03:47pm MDT
Tue, May 21, 2024 - 08:00am to 03:47pm MDT
Fri, Jun 07, 2024 - 08:00am to 03:47pm MDT
Mon, Jun 17, 2024 - 08:00am to 03:47pm MDT
Wed, Jun 26, 2024 - 08:00am to 03:47pm MDT
Sat, Jun 29, 2024 - 08:00am to 03:47pm MDT
Tue, Jul 02, 2024 - 09:00am to 04:47pm MDT
Sat, Jul 06, 2024 - 08:00am to 03:47pm MDT
Mon, Jul 15, 2024 - 07:00am to 02:47pm MDT
Tue, Aug 06, 2024 - 09:00am to 04:47pm MDT
Mon, Aug 19, 2024 - 07:00am to 02:47pm MDT
Sat, Sep 07, 2024 - 08:00am to 03:47pm MDT
Tue, Sep 10, 2024 - 09:00am to 04:47pm MDT
Mon, Sep 23, 2024 - 07:00am to 02:47pm MDT
Tue, Oct 15, 2024 - 09:00am to 04:47pm MDT
Mon, Oct 28, 2024 - 07:00am to 02:47pm MDT
Sat, Nov 02, 2024 - 08:00am to 03:47pm MDT
Tue, Nov 19, 2024 - 09:00am to 04:47pm MST
Mon, Dec 02, 2024 - 07:00am to 02:47pm MST
Tue, Dec 24, 2024 - 09:00am to 04:47pm MST
Sat, Jan 04, 2025 - 08:00am to 03:47pm MST
Mon, Jan 06, 2025 - 07:00am to 02:47pm MST
Tue, Jan 28, 2025 - 09:00am to 04:47pm MST
Mon, Feb 10, 2025 - 07:00am to 02:47pm MST
Sat, Mar 01, 2025 - 08:00am to 03:47pm MST
Tue, Mar 04, 2025 - 09:00am to 04:47pm MST
Mon, Mar 17, 2025 - 07:00am to 02:47pm MDT
Tue, Apr 08, 2025 - 09:00am to 04:47pm MDT
Mon, Apr 21, 2025 - 07:00am to 02:47pm MDT
Sat, May 03, 2025 - 08:00am to 03:47pm MDT
Tue, May 13, 2025 - 09:00am to 04:47pm MDT
Mon, May 26, 2025 - 07:00am to 02:47pm MDT
Tue, Jun 17, 2025 - 09:00am to 04:47pm MDT
Mon, Jun 30, 2025 - 07:00am to 02:47pm MDT

Additional Info

Basic Course Information

Prerequisites None
Advanced Preparation None
Designed For CPAs, EAs, attorneys, bankers, and financial planners
Original Recording Date 05/2023
Course Developer Werner-Rocca Seminars
Date Added to Catalog 03/31/2023
Yellow Book No

Additional Information

Complaint Resolution Policy

Please contact Anne Taylor for any complaints. anne.taylor@acpen.com, (972-377-8199). 


Official Registry Statement

Business Professionals' Network, Inc. is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors through its website: www.nasbaregistry.org


Instructional Delivery Method

Group Internet Based


Course Registration Requirements

Online Registration


Refund/Cancellation Policy

Please contact the ACPEN help desk 1-877-602-9877 or help@acpen.com if you wish to cancel your attendance for a previously purchased webcast and are requesting a refund or transfer. 


Promo Video

Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:      4.7

Total Reviews: 48

Comments

Barlow W

"Art is one of the best presenters I have seen. He keeps you engaged and thinking."

Jane O

"Loved the course - anxious to take more in this field."

Wardak D

"I lIked this class very much and Art made it interesting."

Jeffries M

"Very informative information that was presented using applicable scenarios."

Ruth L

"Great day! I had to rearrange my schedule to work it in. I am glad it did it. "

Randall D

"Very good"