Skip to main content
Not Found
Live Webcast Replay

5 Steps to Cultivate a Values-Based Approach to Governance


Total Credits: 1.2 including 1.2 Personnel/Human Resources - Non-technical

Average Rating:
   1
Category:
Human Resources
Faculty:
Charla Welch
Course Levels:
All Levels
Duration:
1.2 Hours
License:
Access for 30 day(s) after program date.

Dates
Please Note: Programs with a ☾ insignia begin after 5pm or air on the weekend.


Description

Emerging from the pandemic is a workplace culture governed by values. Far from a soft approach, it can drive significant business results. Organizations that embrace an empathetic culture increase performance and decrease turnover, while their customers report a more positive experience. Additionally, being more “person-focused” strongly correlates with more effective ethics and compliance programs. These insights can provide a roadmap for the "new normal" as the world emerges from the crisis. How employees and management move forward from this experience will shape the workplace for decades to come.

Basic Course Information

Learning Objectives
  • Define a values-based approach to corporate governance
  • Examine the benefits from promoting empathy
  • Discuss best practices for creating cultural change
  • Review strategies for increasing worker satisfaction and productivity

Major Subjects
  • Employee engagement
  • Values-based governance
  • Organizational culture
  • Employee relations

Course Materials

Faculty

Charla Welch's Profile

Charla Welch Related seminars and products


Charla is a former practicing attorney who transitioned to HR. She has experience both in-house and as an external counselor, with extensive expertise in Employee Relations (including performance management, discipline, dispute resolution, labor negotiations, investigations and compliance), Policy & Process Design, and Training. Since moving from California to Austin five years ago, Charla has been consulting with numerous organizations of all sizes across multiple industries on a wide range of HR concerns. Her clients would say she’s a solutions-driven consultant, with the unique ability to be detail-oriented and act in the moment, while remaining attuned to long-term business objectives. She is as skilled and comfortable interacting with the c-suite as she is explaining HR basics to front-line supervisors. Charla has served as chief negotiator for agencies in labor negotiations, working in confidence with city councils and boards to understand their vision and bring it to fruition at the bargaining table, while maintaining awareness of relevant laws and strategic considerations. Given her integrity and exceptional work product, Charla establishes strong working relationships quickly, serving as a skilled coach and trusted advisor.

Charla obtained her bachelor degree in Speech Communication (with a concentration on Organizational Communication and minor is International Business) before achieving a juris doctorate from the University of San Francisco School of Law. She passed the California bar exam on her first try and practiced at a medium sized law firm, where her experience included advice and counsel in nearly all areas of employment law, such as: Title VII / state discrimination laws, the ADA, the FLSA, the FMLA / state leave laws, contractual disputes, employee handbooks and numerous other employment laws and labor regulations. Since founding her HR consulting practice, Cultivate People, she has chosen to go on inactive status with the bar.
 


Dates

Thu, Feb 09, 2023 - 05:00pm to 06:09pm MST
Fri, Feb 10, 2023 - 08:00am to 09:09am MST
Fri, Feb 17, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:09am MST
Wed, Feb 22, 2023 - 12:00pm to 01:09pm MST
Mon, Mar 06, 2023 - 02:00pm to 03:09pm MST
Thu, Mar 23, 2023 - 08:00am to 09:09am MDT
Mon, Mar 27, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:09am MDT
Mon, Apr 03, 2023 - 12:00pm to 01:09pm MDT
Sat, Apr 15, 2023 - 02:00pm to 03:09pm MDT
Wed, Apr 26, 2023 - 08:00am to 09:09am MDT
Tue, May 09, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:09am MDT
Tue, May 09, 2023 - 05:00pm to 06:09pm MDT
Wed, May 17, 2023 - 12:00pm to 01:09pm MDT
Sat, May 27, 2023 - 02:00pm to 03:09pm MDT
Mon, Jun 05, 2023 - 08:00am to 09:09am MDT
Wed, Jun 14, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:09am MDT
Tue, Jun 20, 2023 - 12:00pm to 01:09pm MDT
Sat, Jun 24, 2023 - 02:00pm to 03:09pm MDT
Thu, Jun 29, 2023 - 05:00pm to 06:09pm MDT
Sat, Jul 08, 2023 - 08:00am to 09:09am MDT
Sat, Jul 15, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:09am MDT
Wed, Jul 26, 2023 - 12:00pm to 01:09pm MDT
Sun, Aug 13, 2023 - 02:00pm to 03:09pm MDT
Sat, Aug 19, 2023 - 08:00am to 09:09am MDT
Wed, Aug 30, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:09am MDT
Sat, Sep 02, 2023 - 12:00pm to 01:09pm MDT
Fri, Sep 15, 2023 - 02:00pm to 03:09pm MDT
Mon, Sep 25, 2023 - 08:00am to 09:09am MDT
Tue, Sep 26, 2023 - 05:00pm to 06:09pm MDT
Mon, Oct 09, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:09am MDT
Thu, Oct 19, 2023 - 12:00pm to 01:09pm MDT
Mon, Oct 30, 2023 - 02:00pm to 03:09pm MDT
Thu, Nov 02, 2023 - 05:00pm to 06:09pm MDT
Mon, Nov 06, 2023 - 08:00am to 09:09am MST
Fri, Nov 17, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:09am MST
Thu, Nov 30, 2023 - 12:00pm to 01:09pm MST
Fri, Dec 01, 2023 - 02:00pm to 03:09pm MST
Thu, Dec 07, 2023 - 08:00am to 09:09am MST
Wed, Dec 13, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:09am MST
Sat, Dec 23, 2023 - 12:00pm to 01:09pm MST
Thu, Dec 28, 2023 - 05:00pm to 06:09pm MST

Additional Info

Basic Course Information

Prerequisites None
Advanced Preparation None
Designed For

HR Professionals


Original Recording Date 05/12/2022
Yellow Book No
Course Developer Charla Welch
Date Added to Catalog 05/23/2022

Additional Information

Complaint Resolution Policy

Please contact Anne Taylor for any complaints. anne.taylor@acpen.com, (972-377-8199). 


Official Registry Statement

Business Professionals' Network, Inc. is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors through its website: www.nasbaregistry.org


Instructional Delivery Method

Group Internet Based


Course Registration Requirements

Online Registration


Refund/Cancellation Policy

Please contact the ACPEN help desk 1-877-602-9877 or help@acpen.com if you wish to cancel your attendance for a previously purchased webcast and are requesting a refund or transfer. 


Promo Video

Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:      5

Total Reviews: 1

Please wait ...

Back to Top